Quick Takes of Summer

I might have to make this a Quick Takes (Good thing I am starting on Tuesday, and look at that – finishing on Friday!) Because I want to blog but don’t know/there is too much? To write about – which seems to happen when I post only once every 2 or 3 months.

  1. I have kept a list of all the books I started reading since March and there are 19 Titles! … the even more impressive part (to me) is that 8 of them are checked off as actually fully, cover-to-cover, finished. Some others are more of the longer Spiritual reading tomes that I will return to in time, and others of the unfinished bunch were non fiction types that I skimmed and took the parts that I thought might help and left the rest. Either way, I  am impressing myself in a tiny way.
  2. I have also been dedicating some time to keeping my brain from turning to mush by watching lectures on You Tube (homeschooler or what) but I am just enjoying it so much, having BIG ideas in my brain and not just the day to day mundane taking over and frustrating me. So far I have followed along with Jordan Peterson’s ongoing Lecture Series on the Psychological Significance of the Bible Stories. There are 5 lectures so far and they are each over 2.5 hours so it’s like being back in school pretty much, but it is very interesting stuff.
  3. I’m still super pregnant. (and so are almost all my sisters!) 33 weeks now, and people tell me I look small (thank you, kind people) but it sure doesn’t feel like that when I try to roll over in the night.
  4. I feel like I spent my energy on “Summer” activities in May and the beginning of June – which was so much fun, we did some weekend trips to see friends and sisters, trips to local little attractions etc. and now I am sparingly using my tiny bit of energy to get to the lake once or twice a week with friends and, that’s about it. The pool in the back yard and lots of Popsicles and I am hoping some nesting urge kicks in because I have got absolutely nothing ready for this new arrival.
  5. We did make a tiny bit of headway this past weekend on our biggest baby preparedness step we need to take – upgrading our vehicle. I wanted to really give cheaper minivans a chance and so we spent an afternoon trying to fit our 4 car seats into  something cheaper that the highly recommended for families (and now we know why)  Honda Odyssey. But it seems other van makers don’t really try to hard to accommodate more than 2 or 3 car seats with any real effort, so now in the next week or two we have to find an used one within our budget and snatch it up.
  6. Other things on my baby list of to dos is:
    1. wash some of the newborn clothes/blankets
    2. set up the baby room for a newborn baby, raise Tessa’s old crib up to baby level, put the change table back in there etc
    3. find and set up a bassinet in our room
  7. I am going to work this weekend on my London Re-cap post of my trip in May – adding in the pictures (since lots of it is already written) so that it my goal for myself. Lets see if I can meet the Challenge
About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Family, Link Up. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Takes of Summer

  1. We got super lucky (God took care of us for sure) and found a used Honda Odyssey for a great price and I’m never going back! Sliding doors are the bomb diggity. Hope y’all can find a great deal too! Catching up on my blog reading so I just read about your London trip…SO awesome. So glad you were able to do that before baby comes!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

