Sunday of #WeekInMyLife15

Team Whitaker WIML_sunday

Today marks the end of #WeekInMyLife15, an annual blogging challenge hosted by Kathryn and somehow I successfully blogged every day for a week (miracle in and of itself!) about the ordinary ins and outs of our week. If you want to catch up, here is Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.

This morning began at 8am, (If you don’t count mid night waking due to “sore feet” and early morning pumping sessions as well as PJ changes due to leaky diapers) when I realized we had slept in a little more than usual and had less than an hour to get everyone up and fed and dressed for 9am Mass.

So unenjoyable

So unenjoyable

Not very much fun for Mama either

Not very much fun for Mama either

We did it, we always do because we notice a HUGE difference in the difficulty levels of taking our kids to any later in the day Masses, and we love our 9am Mass crowd, this week there were 14 kids (under 8) in the first 3 pews in our section of the Church. So we hustled and got there even through the pain of the required bundling for winter travel. Boo.

 

 

The kids did really well at Mass, and we hustled home pretty quickly so that we could start cooking brunch for our good friends who were coming over. Lindsay and her husband are due with their third today! So I am praying their little baby boy is born soon, going overdue is no fun at all.

We had to resort to some PawPatrol to get through breakfast with any semblance of conversation, but it is so nice to have the whole families together and Dads are awesome at play dates! Then it is actually possible to have conversations. Love it.

2015-11-22 12.59.35

It was just 3 years ago that we went on double dates together, now there are 6 kids in the mix! That happened fast!

After they left for naptime, Clara and I baked the most delicious thing I have found at Costco in awhile – Almond Roca Cookie bars. Delish!

2015-11-22 13.37.14 2015-11-22 13.34.40

I know Almond Roca is one of my moms all time favourite things and it’s really hard to find around here, so when I saw it in a mix to make dessert squares, I knew I had to pick it up and try them. The Feast of Christ the King seemed like the perfect excuse.

While the squares were cooling and Hugh and Tessa were napping we watched some Sunday football and had Chips and Salsa and the Yogurt dip I am all crazy about this week, I caught up on some blog reading and Clara had some iPad time playing games until it was time to load up again and go to my parents for Sunday Family Dinner.

2015-11-22 18.43.05 2015-11-22 18.52.46 2015-11-22 18.52.56My grandma Jill was there as well as my parents and my youngest sister, the only members of my immediate family (which numbers 19 people?) who are left in our hometown. Mom made a delicious roast, the kids played with “Rego” (Lego) which is a toy we haven’t started building a collection of yet, so they are really excited whenever they get to play with it. And after dinner I gave my gramma Instagram lessons, so she can keep up with her increasing number of great great grand babies (I think she has 9 now?) She is an amazing woman for being so happy to learn and embrace whatever the new Technology is to be able to stay in touch with all of us spread around the country.

12107740_10153842692555955_4548301186614471160_n

I love that she is so present and able to be a part of my kids lives, she was such a big part of my life. Most of my growing up years we lived 2 doors down from her and grandpa’s house and spent many many hours over there!

It was a great week, and I am very glad I have this little record to look back on in years to come. I hope to keep posting more regularly, but certainly not daily! Whew, it’s taken a lot of effort and energy! Thanks for following a long, please leave a comment if you are still here! I really appreciate it!

 

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Family, Link Up, Look Back and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday of #WeekInMyLife15

  1. Big high five for blogging every day! It was fun reading along 🙂

    Like

  2. Hannah says:

    I had so much fun reading along all week, I’m so impressed you got through the whole week writing every day!! Also, those almond roca bars sound amazing…wanna ship some to Lincoln? 😉

    Like

  3. Hannah S. says:

    You looked beautiful for Mass (especially for having to rush)! I find that doing the best you can to get to that service you usually go to helps Sundays to go smoother. We are pretty strictly a 10:45 Mass family though, haha.

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Thank you Hannah! Yes we were 11am Mass people for quite awhile until nap schedules and toddlers who wake up SO early and get Craaaaaazy by 10:30 made us rethink our plan. Also the 9am Mass at our parish is very child friendly, like the choir director has a bucket of maracas for kids to use in the closing hymn and they LOVE getting to do the “shakers” if they have been well behaved during Mass

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

