Quick Takes – two weeks old, big kid antics, baby pictures

Linking my my random with Kelly!

Now that the cocoon of first-week-postpartum has passed, the dust is settling a little to reveal what real life with 3 kids looks like for us.

2015-10-12 17.19.56

There have been a few moments that need to be written down, so that when the fog of these days lifts they wont be totally forgotten.

2015-10-14 08.15.17

~1~

Such as Thanksgiving Dinner. Canadian Thanksgiving was this past weekend. We ventured out for our first car trip on Saturday and joined my parents and siblings for turkey dinner. While the crowd of adults ate and talked and ooh-ed and ahh-ed over the 8 day old baby, the 3 year old and two 19 month old cousins, (Hugh and Gabe) were a little too free range, and my sister picked up the ringing landline phone to hear the Emergency Response operator on the other end of the line, calling back to see if there was real trouble because it turns out Hugh had found the large red “EMERGENCY” button on the phone in grampa’s office. That was not the most fun wait – waiting for the police to arrive to verify that there was no domestic disturbance going on.

2015-10-12 11.39.17

~2~

I took Tessa for our first one on one excursion – to Wal-Mart… record that in the baby book and smoke it. We don’t have Target here anymore, and so the most glamorous place I could think of that sells diaper cream and hair straighteners and milk all in one stop and is only a few minutes away turns out to be the ghetto-est Wallyworld in town. Little miss is not a fan of car rides, and since we are rocking the three car seats across the middle row, sitting beside the infant seat to offer some comfort and sob-abatement isn’t an option anymore… and driving and listening to a newborn cry never gets easier. Oh well the new hair straightener is worth it, postpartum hair is the worst… mines gone from a lifetime of pin straight to curly/wavy but just in sections… because curly/wavy everywhere might actually look nice.

2015-10-13 16.04.59

~3~

Our nights have been actually really quite restful, and since it still is practically vacation with Brian off work, I feel very spoiled. His parents sadly had to return home, but their help was immeasurable and we are so so grateful that they could be here for a week!

2015-10-12 17.33.35

2015-10-12 17.34.03

~4~

Clara says some of the funniest things. At bed time she asks Brian to “draw” very elaborate pictures on her back as a form of backrub/story – and lately they have always been scenes of families of animals, each member eating a specific food, and for each portion of the drawing she specifies what “colour” he should draw it in, colours like “saucy yellow”. I know there have been many more, but normally I remember them by texting them to Brian, and since he has been home and we have been laughing at her antics together, I haven’t been remembering them as well.

2015-10-12 11.40.27

~5~

I have a few projects on the go – the baptism gown is So Close!!  to being done… just a few more netflix sessions of hand stitching and hopefully we will have it good to go for the 24th when Tessa’s baptism will be. Can’t wait to share some pictures of the finished gown. I am really glad I took on this ambitious project and I have learned so much on the way.

2015-10-11 14.22.52

~6~

I have also volunteered myself to organize making advent wreaths for the parish mothers group, which I am very excited for… we will sell them and if we make some money with it, the group can buy some books off my book wish list!

~7~

2015-10-12 17.51.15 2015-10-14 12.42.08

wordless.

 

About Amy

Married the man of my dreams, enjoying life with a 4.5 year old daughter, 3 year old son, 18 month old baby girl and waiting for baby 4 to arrive in August. Figuring out this stay at home thing, learning how to be a better mother to my children and more loving wife to the one I love.
This entry was posted in Family, Link Up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quick Takes – two weeks old, big kid antics, baby pictures

  1. theresabreslin says:

    <3! Can't wait to see the finished gown!

    Like

  2. amyewiggin says:

    When I first saw your post I thought you had two- one week olds. Oops! One perfect two week old is just as great. The gown looks beautiful. Good work mama!!

    Like

  3. Hannah says:

    I can’t wait to see the baptism gown!! You’ve been teasing us with it for it seems like forever now! 🙂

    Like

  4. Rfog says:

    Your children are adorable! Congratulations on the new baby!! The sneak peak of the Baptism gown is simply beautiful.

    Like

  5. What a yummy squishy little one! (And that baptism gown is gorgeous!)

    Like

  6. Hannah S. says:

    Loved the gown you made, Amy!! You are an inspiration! I laughed pretty hard at the line, “record that in the baby book and smoke it,” that’s so funny. 🙂

    Like

  7. Lauren says:

    Oh man…when I read accidental 911 calls and Canada in the same story, I have to laugh. Back when I was doing French immersion in Nova Scotia, I accidentally called 911 while playing a version of tag where we called people in different residences on campus. The worst part was that since everything was in French, I totally didn’t realize I’d done such a thing until the emergency responders finally got a hold of us and they were not at all happy about the situation. Oops.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

