June First – Catch up, Goals, and Accomplishments!

 

You are supposed to say nice things about a post that disappears into oblivion right? Well since my *sarcasticly* wonderful post seems to be gone, this is the short short version of all the things that have happened since I blogged last, hopefully most of these will get posts of their own now that a lot of my big projects have come and gone and maybe I will have more time for record keeping.

Clara and I got haircuts

IMG_9232 IMG_9240Hers is clearly much cuter than mine, but they are both a nice change. And the occasion for such a rare occurance was

My sister Anne got Married!

2015-05-23 13
This should certainly get a post of its own. It was a beautiful wedding and reception and Clara was one of three adorable flower girls, whose only competition to her cuteness was Huey in a suit.

I Crafted many decorations for the Wedding

2015-05-23 16.59.17Why I did not take a picture while they were sitting at the head table, I keep asking myself. I am sure someone else did I just have to find out who. Anyway a crafty post of its own could be written about the tens of thousands of paper circles I punched out and sewed together for the “streamers” and the bunting and table runners we made for the 30+ tables. Fun work.

We Consecrated ourselves to Jesus through Mary

2015-05-26 16.23.25-1Just yesterday, on the feast of the Visitation, Brian and I entrusted ourselves to Mary after completing the DIY retreat in the book 33 Days to Morning Glory. Beautiful thing to do and as part of the retreat we spent a date night buying the statue pictured above of Our Lady of Guadalupe and most of those Icons to build that “Little Oratory” in the corner of our living room.

First Camping Trip of the Year

2015-05-18 08.55.37-1We are going to do more camping this summer so I will make sure I take better pictures and share more about that, but camping in May in Alberta is pretty sure to include things like rain, sunshine, AND snow, all in the same weekend, so we borrowed a trailer (the rest of the time we plan to tent) but we had a great time.

 I Attended a Christopher West Conference

Such a blessing! I have never heard him speak before or read much of his work (although I am very familiar with Theology of the Body and love it) So I really enjoyed two days of diving deeply into how this beautiful teaching applies to so much of our lives and understanding of God and the Church. It was a presentation of much of what is in his new book, and it was very very interesting and inspiring.

 

Lots of other small, summery things also happened, and I am so glad that the pregnancy is still quite boring and not keeping me from taking my “big kids” on lots of summery adventures, petting farm, Heritage Park, the lake, new playgrounds, friends soccer games etc.

My goals for June are

  • Keep tackling room by room organization – Hugh’s bedroom and the sewing/guest room
  • Make some headway on a new sewing project
  • Weekly trips to the lake or other outdoor activities
  • Reassess budget
  • Daily Rosary

And I totally could not remember May’s goals, but now that I look back and see

For May:

  • Start getting to the lake at least once a week
  • Get back on the meal planning train… (since it can be fast and cheap…)  right?
  • Haircuts for all four of us
  • Complete 33 Days to Morning Glory and make the Marian Consecration on May 31

I have to say I didn’t do too bad, except for meal planning, major fail there.  Oh well, pick up and keep on keepin on!

Ok, this is long enough and is already the second attempt and took a day of fiddling with drop box to get pictures into it… so I will leave it there! Have a happy June

signature

 

 

 

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to June First – Catch up, Goals, and Accomplishments!

  1. callherhappy says:

    I need to do a tl;dr post soon! Thanks for the updates 😉

    Like

  2. Rosie says:

    Goodness Clara’s hair cut really is adorable! I’m looking forward to reading more about the wedding 🙂

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Yeah I am so happy it turned out, and all those episodes of Dora and Bubble Guppies getting haircuts must have really prepared her to sit through it!

      Like

  3. Hannah S. says:

    I really love your haircut and Clara’s! The bangs are really adorable. I loved having bangs, I just wish I could trim them myself better because they grew SO fast. I was always butchering my hair when I tried, simply because I didn’t want to go spend fifteen bucks to trim only one part of my hair. Haha! The bangs may return at some point though (even if my husband says I really shouldn’t since I get so darn frustrated). 😛
    Also, your little oratory corner is beautiful! Really beautiful!

    Like

  4. Pingback: 2015 in 12 Pictures | All For Heavens Sake

I'd love to hear from you!

