A homemade Holy Water Font for your Home

hwf5

I lead our moms group in a crafty activity this morning,  and just wanted to share a little about it because when I was looking for ideas on making a holy water font the only options were either VERY advanced (metalworking, ceramics, etc) or an activity for children that probably wouldn’t last very long.

After much thought and scouting craft stores and online, I came up with the idea for the above font, made out of simple wooden plaques from the craft store, a metal ramekin (dish), and a holy card.

hwf4

 

It was a bit more work preparing the pieces for all the lovely ladies in our group to be able to make one (or more) for their families, but my wonderful dad was a huge help pre-cutting and drilling all the pieces.
I also believe St. Joseph and my cabinetmaker grandpa were helping us from Heaven!

hwf3 hwf2

The ladies did a phenomenal job of putting them together, and personalizing them with beautiful religious artwork.

Father came in and blessed all the fonts, as well as water, so that each family can bring it home and hopefully get in the habit of frequently using this wonderful sacramental. Father also helpfully reminded us that making the Sign of the Cross with Holy Water has the power to forgive venial sins! Good stuff to have around the home and use frequently to pray the powerful prayer of The Sign of the Cross.
hwf1

 

In honor of St Joseph, whose feast day is tomorrow, maybe someone else would like to break out the hammer and nails and build one for your family.

signature

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A homemade Holy Water Font for your Home

  1. Hannah says:

    Oh my goodness, Amy that’s wonderful! I was actually just brainstorming on whether a homemade Holy water font would be possible to make but I couldn’t think of anything at the time. I’m so going to put this post to good use in the coming days!

    And also it’s really fantastic that you’re leading part of the mom’s group! I’m really wanting to get involved in a mom’s group in our area and I’ve been so intimidated as a first time mom.

    Like

  2. Lauren says:

    Very creative! Way to go.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Wednesday of #WeekInMyLife15 | All For Heavens Sake

  4. Frank Cicero says:

    Excellent, can u show more pictures and expand on the ” how to ” ?

    Like

    • Amy says:

      I don’t have many more pictures I don’t think, the how to night depend on if you are making just 1 for yourself, I wanted to do this as a group activity so I had predrilled all the holes so they could be fastened together with screws and a screwdriver by hand. If making just one I would say to buy a wooden plaque (I found these as Michaels) sand that. Cut a piece of wood to be about 3in X 3 in and drill a large hole in it. The metal ramikens I used were over 1.5 in at the widest so the hole we drilled was 1.5in and I needed to buy a special drill press bit for that. Then fasten the square with hole cut out to the front of the plaque with two screws through from the back. Decorate, paint, stain and varnish.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

