Hugh’s 1st Birthday

One year ago Brian and I interrupted the suspenseful, sort of good but sort of awful British crime drama movie (I cant even remember the name) we were watching to go upstairs and have a baby…

Well it wasn’t exactly that serene, but it was simple, and it was fast, and it is a good thing we were prepared to have him and home because there literally wasn’t time to get to the hospital after I realized this was really it (actually, I don’t know if I ever realized it was really happening. My midwife told me a number of times “Amy if your water broke you are having a baby, tonight” but I still didn’t believe he could be coming nearly 2 weeks early).

Anyway, instead of sharing more gritty details, I think some look back pictures of our sweet, strong, and athletic little boy are in order:

Hugh Grown Chart

monthly pictures from almost every month

 

But let me also include a tribute to his cousin, Gabe, who turned 1 last Thursday, and enjoyed his week of being the elder cousin. Now Hugh is joining him in 1-land. They usually only get to babble at each other over Facetime, so having them in the same room was a lot of fun! They definitly remember each other.

Hugh and GABE

(I decided to go with some collages, because the number of pictures I wanted to include was getting a little REDONCULOUS)

AFHS HJS

Huey and his favourite toy

 

One of the things Hugh really truly does love is to hold and throw any kind of ball, these ball-pit kind, and footballs, soccer balls, anything spherical that he can find. He even plays catch with daddy, and has quite the arm for someone only 12 months old.

AFHS HJS 1BD (6)

This Hugh face… we see a lot of this skeptical face.
AFHS HJS 1BD (7)

This is how I manage to take showers somedays. All of a sudden its not a baby jail – its a FORT! for a few minutes at least. Glowing toys and flashlights extend the experience. AFHS HJS 1BD (8)AFHS HJS 1BD (16)

He absolutely loves getting to soak himself at the huge water table at our science center. Such a tall baby he almost fits in with the big kids doing buoyancy experiments and fishing games in the water. Until he crawls away through the puddles.

AFHS HJS 1BD (19)

Another Science Center moment, intrigued by infinite possibilities that is the wheel.

AFHS HJS 1BD (26)

Always always climbing.

AFHS HJS 1BD (12)

This was just the other day while I was cooking and he was organizing tupperwares as he so often does. Such a climber! Up is much easier than down in this case, but getting down off the couch (even off the back of the couch, over the armrest) he manages, I was about to say “safely” but I will stick with “confidently” (and don’t worry the “high”chair can be and was lowered for this picture)

AFHS HJS 1BD (25)

I was trying to snap a picture while he was sick the other week, but there’s just now way to show how BIG this boy is, who is definitely still a baby and wants to cuddle and be cuddled, but I think his torso might be as long as mine.

This was a little scattered, but I just wanted to make sure I had a record of how wonderful and special this little boy is to us today, and every day.

(and lets be honest posts like this are basically  just for me, and the grammas, but thanks for sticking with me to any other readers who might be following along!)

Hugh Joseph, we love you so much! We are so glad you are a part of our family!

signature

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Look Back and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hugh’s 1st Birthday

  1. Hannah says:

    Gosh, he is just too cute – and I agree, he does look so long and big! Congrats on another one-year-mark to all of you guys.

    Like

  2. Lauren says:

    Happy Birthday, Hugh!

    Like

  3. Pingback: All For Heavens Sake

I'd love to hear from you!

