No Knead, No Time, Nothing Better, Bread

One of my awesome Christmas presents this year was a dutch oven

(and no it’s not only a kind of fart… your not the only one who thought that… don’t feel bad,
husband: “why would you put a fart on your Christmas list..!?”)photo (2)

It is also aubergine… I guess eggplant coloured was the overarching theme of this years Christmas…

Anyway, I have been looking forward to using one of these ceramic covered cast iron pots (that can go from burner into the oven) for awhile, so I was looking up some recipes for it and found all these people raving over no knead bread. Awesome I thought… until I read further and noticed the “let it rest, rising, for 18-24 hours in the fridge” detail in the instructions… Who has TIME for that?? I look of recipes approx 24 minutes before I want to be eating the food so this was not going to work… keep on googling until I came across this… No Time Bread… now THAT is more my style. photo 1

I love the recipe and the instructions and clear and easy and it really is possible to make this, start to finish, in about an hour and a half…photo 3

I have made it 3 times this week. I am obsessed.

It really is delicious and I wish I had modified the recipe some how and could call it my own but I literally just do exactly what they say and it turned out perfect every time. I kind of want to make it every day for the rest of my life and never buy bread again. It is so crusty on the outside but moist in the middle, perfect for along side a bowl of soup.

photo 4

(along with lots of butter and beer.. of course)

I am going to try the 18 hour version one of these days, which doesn’t have the addition of balsamic vinegar and sugar (to help the yeast work FAST), apparently the time helps the bread get the deep and complex flavors that the vinegar is trying to replicate, and I will let you know how it compares.

Anyway.. Go and bake!

signature

 

 

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Knead, No Time, Nothing Better, Bread

  1. Hannah says:

    Oh man, I am going to have to get myself a dutch oven (haha) just for that kind of bread! It looks so good!

    Like

  2. Lauren says:

    Dutch oven as a fart? Never heard of such a thing…

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!