Advent Wreath meets the Advent Calendar!

While working on this Jesse Tree project, I have spent a lot of time at Michaels and Fabricland lately, and one thing that really jumped out to me from the clearance baskets and Michaels one time I was there, were some small purple and pink magnetic tins. I just had to snatch a few up because they were the PERFECT colours for Advent, they even had white too for Christmas, and I thought I could figure out what to do with them later. This is what I came up with!

014c4a57445c072425bc510373d717cc6002bc4ac5

It is kind of like a advent wreath/calendar.

01344790136e2ea1066faf83e0b261b62abaa51784

I just glued felt in the lids (because they were originally clear) and drew on the numbers and star with sharpie, and inside I put little nativity scene magnets (foam stickers also from Michaels, stuck onto magnetic sheets from the Dollar Store) 011f209999798f620c72fb416f3196b8f9200480a9So week by week the nativity scene gets populated and at Christmas our fridge will look like this:

0199a4a7b55acce5d14731f53cad59fb04cc471352

Anyways, thats the idea. But it was so simple and easy, I was able to make two sets, and stick the second one in the mail to our twin cousins (with chocolates added to the tins along with the magnets, of course!)  To hopefully help them celebrate Advent as well.

Some other random notes, I have been collecting some links to add to the Our Jesse Tree Tradition page that I made so there are some great tutorials there now, and its still not to late to make you own! (Some are as easy as hitting “print” so don’t be scared!)

I will be participating in Beth Anne’s Advent blog hop closer to the end of Advent, but check there for awesome posts all about Advent from tons of different writers all through out Advent.

Advent Blog-Hop

 

On a totally unrelated note, being busy with so much crafting and many projects lately, when I read Ana’s post the other night  it hit a chord and it made me wonder if I am a un-fun mom too, so I sought answers in the most reliable and proven way I could think of (no not google) and asked the two year old;

“Clara, am I fun? Am I silly?”

“No!” firm but smiling, thoughtful pause, “you’re pretty”.

I’ll take it 😉

signature

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Advent Wreath meets the Advent Calendar!

  1. Hannah says:

    Hahah! That’s about the best answer you could get if you didn’t get a “yes.” too cute!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

