Three Years Strong

Three years ago today this happened

AB_306

A very very happy day indeed, as the most wonderful, strong, holy and hilarious man I have ever had the honour of knowing became my husband.

I thought I would only share a picture or two, but they are so much fun to look back on, and I guess I haven’t done a whole love story or wedding post here yet anyway.

Some happy memories from that day:

AB_016 AB_019

Nothing says “I come from a big family” more than piling out of a good ol 12 passenger van at your own wedding. (Don’t knock it, our dresses and perfectly ironed and pressed everythings were in perfect shape!)

AB_033AB_047

The celebrant of our wedding was the pastor of our family parish when I was a child, he was of the opinion that we the bride and groom should greet their guests and not hide, so we were on the cathedral steps before the ceremony. At first it seemed strange but I quite agree with him.
AB_058AB_201AB_381

There were a few sideways glances and smiles between us, as Fr. Greg was able to make us chuckle during the homily and some of the words he had to share with us.

AB_390

I love this photo of the nuptial blessing, I love knowing that so many people who stood with us at our wedding are still supporting with their prayers, and knowing that the grace of the sacrament is still with us in abundance, just waiting on us to activate it and put it into practice!

AB_478

 

Man and wife. nothing better!

IMG_0769

The right shoes make or break an outfit, amiright or amiright?

IMG_0823

I went with the more colourful palate for my wedding colours…. had to deck out these smashingly beautiful ladies in something to try to make them not look better than the bride.

IMG_0833

And the men… Apparently most tuxedo rental places don’t really offer the bright brights.

IMG_0903 IMG_0913

Between the wedding and reception we made a point of having some chill time for our wedding party, and in order to arrive at the reception fully awake a espresso stop was necessary! (My sister ordered the necessary 15 shots of espresso and the bewildered barista thought she meant it as a single drink, ie, for one person!)

IMG_0978

Yes “precious moments” are cheesy as they come, but we used it as a reminder to ourselves and each other during our dating and engagement that we were committed to purity before marriage.
IMG_0997

I loved that the location of our reception had a view of the rocky mountains!

IMG_1179

IMG_1215

 

Probably THE best moment of the night (at least to the 40+ children there) was when my dads friend who is a Fire Chief showed up with a fire truck.

Yes “Yours for Life” is the motto of our fire department. What could be better?

And today, more than any day before, I mean it Brian; I’m yours, yours for life.

 

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three Years Strong

  1. Mary says:

    AMY. I love this. Your pictures are SO beautiful. I can’t believe it’s been three years already.

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Thanks girl. I KNOW! I think you may be the beautiful part of the pictures! Thanks for all your help. Best MOH ever

      Amy

      (Email sent from my mobile phone)

      >

      Like

  2. Holly says:

    Beautiful pictures Amy! Congrats on three years!

    Like

  3. Lauren says:

    Oh I love this! I’m a sucker for weddings (especially holy, Catholic ones)! I have never seen such a colorful wedding palate, but you made it work! Also, I recently attended an outdoor (Protestant) wedding where the bride and groom did “First Look” photos beforehand. The idea made me very uncomfortable, but if a priest encourages it, then maybe I ought to rethink my opinions… haha.

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Thanks Lauren! I loved all the colours, so much fun. And yeah our priest said there’s nothing in actual Church teaching or liturgy that says the bride and groom shouldn’t see each other before so that’s what we did.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

