Happy 80th Birthday to my Gramma

My wonderful Grandmother Jill turned 80 this month.

019a0ffc212e7e0e4164ac98dc465166edbdd54a18

I am pretty sure Hugh is her 6th great-grandchild

We celebrated together as a family, with all 7 of her children and a great majority of her descendants present from all across the country. She is the liveliest, happiest, most wonderful woman I could imagine. She is in great health, and one of her many activities is bowling, so to celebrate her big day the family gathered together (around 30 of us) for a massive Moroney bowling tournament.

photo (1)

Aren’t those the cutest little bowling shoes? Photo credit to my Aunt Marianne

photo (2)

Photo credit to my Aunt Marianne

01b7943f8868dd01ea5b2a923593a1f4eb3e3419b0

Huey with two of his many auntys

Gramma has always been a very important part of our lives, as she always lived just a few blocks away when I was young growing up, and in my preteen years my family needed a bigger house for our growing family, and bought and moved into a house that was being used as a convent by a group of nuns (another post entirely, my dad always joked he would put us all in the convent!) But this house was two doors down from my gramma and grampas house. With her constantly full cookie an candy jars, and the fact that they had TV when we didn’t, we made lots of trips over to visit them!

Gramma had just gotten back from a trip to Hawaii for my aunts wedding, and so we carried on the hawaiian custom of presenting her with lei’s to celebrate her birthday. This was the lei I made for her. Customized with some little scotches to ensure she can celebrate all night long

01421f9e0ae362218f30ba86e0e8fc7276fd249c80

I wish I had gotten a picture of her wearing the 2 dozen leis she was presented with!

Happy Birthday Gramma, We love you!

Pictured here with Clara on her 1st Birthday

Pictured here with Clara on her 1st Birthday

Jill with her two great grand daughters (clara on the left) who were born 3 days apart

Jill with her two great grand daughters (clara on the left) who were born 3 days apart

 

About Amy

Married the man of my dreams, enjoying life with a 4.5 year old daughter, 3 year old son, 18 month old baby girl and waiting for baby 4 to arrive in August. Figuring out this stay at home thing, learning how to be a better mother to my children and more loving wife to the one I love.
This entry was posted in Family, Look Back and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 80th Birthday to my Gramma

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Very nice posting. Enjoyed reading and the photographs.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

