Outsmarted by the little one

Lately I feel like most of my posts have been mainly about Hugh, and I am glad I have written what I have about the newest little member of our family. But so much of my day is spent chasing, cleaning, feeding, teaching, listening to, and answering a certain little miss, that I wanted to take some time to record some memories of this darling little lady who is a daily source of so much joy and laughter to our whole family.

As I look through all the pictures of her and think of so many things I want to remember, I am realizing this may take more than one post. So we can start with… mischief!

Lately this new(ish) talent has been showing its head more and more as Clara is mastering all the climbing, opening, pushing, etc. that is required to really get into any real worthwhile messes. Such as yesterday, I was a little busy (read: distracted) and had not gotten the snack I knew she needed. But I know my little girl is resourceful, or prone to get distracted herself by some toy, and rarely has real tantrums yet, so I continued on my all important task of comparing airline prices for a trip we need to plan for my sister in laws wedding, and then I realized it had gotten a little quiet, maybe too quiet for a toddler? So I look over and notice this:

outsmarted2

That little blue chair had to be pushed a looooong way (and up two stairs) to get to the pantry, what a smart little girl, she got her self a snack!

“Clara” I call, and she appears

outsmarted1

picture cropped to hide the pile of dirty laundry

 

 

Crackers! I think, that’s good, probably better than whatever I would have given her to snack on… but that guilty look? and no crunching? and where are all the crumbs?

No, that was not a nice white square pack of stoned wheat… it was the lovely soft and slimy half used pack of shortening (or is it lard?) she had found, and probably tasted, certainly moisturised her hands with… All in a days work, eh Clara?

Note to self: Remember that childproof latch on the pantry EVERY time.

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outsmarted by the little one

  1. My daughter also does this. They are too resourceful. I had to laugh at the pic that said cropped for dirty laundry. I don’t know how many photos I have had to do this for. Lol

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

