My View: the newborn edition

Understandably… I have been spending a lot of time looking at this face lately

myview (3)

Is there any better way to spend the newborn days?

Our little man is 1 month today (he must be, even though February has no 29th) and he is growing so fast, literally…
0-3 month clothes Done.
3-6 month, some still fit…
pull out the 9 monthers? NO! I’m in denial.

myview (4)

I can’t wait to watch him grow and start to discover more and more his personality and just who this little man is who has join our family! But at the same time, I just want him to stay little for awhile more, I want more snuggles and time to hold him and look at his precious face.

myview (2)

I can see the changes already in these pictures, I guess there is a lot of growing a newborn can do in 4 little weeks.

I thought once, awhile ago, what the BEST way I can use the time I have with my little children right now? The options I came up with were;

  1. Photograph everything, always? But that would mean constantly having a phone or a camera between his face and mine, and I have never liked that. (One day I should write about why I never took pictures when I saw the pope(s) in short: I’d prefer the eye contact and many will take much better photos than I ever will!)
  2. Hold them, cuddle them, give them whatever will make them happy always! But then the house will suffer, my husband and first priority will suffer, and they will grow anyway and probably and be spoiled and do I want that?or
  3. Do whatever I can to be the best at my vocation, right now. Sometimes that means taking a picture, sometimes its cuddles and wasting time together like Pope Francis said, and other times it will mean teaching them, guiding them, and even disciplining them, still other moments it is in loving and serving my husband or fulfilling my responsibilities inside and outside the house that I am helping them by example and as a guide to their goal: Heaven. Truly that is the best thing I can ever do or give to my children. Now and in eternity.

myview (1)

I am linking this post up with Julie, from the Corner with a View 

Go read more or share your own!
signature

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Family, Look Back and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My View: the newborn edition

  1. J.R. Baldwin says:

    I love this!!! Ahhh Grace is in 3-6 mo AND 6 month clothes; in supreme denial that she will need her 9 month clothes as well in the next couple months.

    Thanks for joining in!

    Like

    • Amy says:

      I know, why do they have to grow so fast!! Now that Mardi Gras is over, does New Orleans go back to normal, or does it take awhile to recover.. I’ve always wondered?

      Like

  2. Tracie says:

    Such a cutie!

    Like

  3. Lauren M. says:

    This is great! I have decided infant clothing is grossly mis-sized. It seems everyone has an infant wearing clothing that is far “older” than the actual age of the child. What’s up with that? You’re so right about the face in the camera thing; I’m sure I would also just soak up the presence of our Holy Father rather than aim for a once-in-a-million shot that’s sure to lack any real quality. Anyway, keep writing – I can’t wait to follow along!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

