All this happened in the shortest month of the year?

ImageI don’t want to kill anyone with shock, but I am going to try blogging some more… yes, this week, that everyone is participating in Jen’s 7 posts in 7 days challenge… although I haven’t been brave enough to declare myself a participant yet, because I wouldn’t be in shock if this turns out to be my only post this week… I hope that’s not a premonition, but just a bit of realism.

There are so many things I could write about…. this post could just be an index of whole posts I could write..

There’s the matter of this

Image

Turning in to this

Image

(Wish I had fun pictures that included my husband, but most of our silly photo taking opportunities are while he is at work) 

But yes… a baby had been had in our family! We are loving our little boy, brother, son, WHOA!! Such a huge blessing and he is a fantastic baby! I had a beautiful and fast birth, (am I a birth story share-er? I am not sure yet) and he has been such a charm and I truly had experienced the corny-but-true heart growth that accompanies a new baby.

newbaby

Like I mentioned earlier, ours wasn’t the only new baby in our (extended) family. My sister had a baby, a boy, as well! Her little darling Gabriel ended up arriving exactly one week before our little love (we were due 3 weeks apart so we weren’t sure how close in age they would end up), and so the little cousins are pretty close to almost-twins! Another post for another time can be about how I have a twin cousin (3 hours apart) and SHE had a little girl 3 day after I had Clara, so twin or almost twin cousins seem to run in my family 😉almosttwins

I helped my other sisters and mom host a little shower for her

Imagephoto 2 (2)

That baked Brie, pictured in the center… make it. DE LISH! Recipe from my awesome sister in law, Bridget.

I have gotten into making sugar cookies, this is my 5th of 6th batch and everytime I learn something and get much much better at all the techniques. So far most of what I have learned is from the Bake at 350 blog. Especially her yellow rose cookie recipe, and her royal icing recipe, although I have modified both slightly. I made cookies for my nephews baptism (chocolate doves with white icing) and super bowl footballs, and valentines day hearts, and these elephants and baby bottles for the baby shower.

Image

Another huge blessing has been having my mother-in-law here for two weeks to help out and to spend time with the babies!
We have had time between feedings to take a trip to the zoo (can you find the elephant?)

Image

and she has been willing to help me (also she has the unbelievable skills and knowledge of HOW!) to finish an unfinished quilt that was given to me. Started by my late grandmother who passed away years ago, I had wanted to finish it but my sewing skills are very very lacking, let alone quilting! So I am VERY grateful that she is finishing it for me.
Thanks Melissa!!

quilt

 She has also been spoiling us with incredible meals, homemade bread, cakes, scones, muffins… yum! Never leave!

Well I am going to hit post and be happy with that… Goodnight all!

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
Aside | This entry was posted in Family, Look Back and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you!

