Being Productive: How to Make 22 Freezer Meals in 1 Day

This post is written and directed at a special audience of: Me.

freezermeals

I know in a few years, months or maybe just weeks I will be unable to believe this is a possibly achievable feat, so I want to remind myself it is (was?) possible, and hopefully by then I can tell you that yes it was completely worth it and made such a difference and I should do it again!

If I were a pro blogger, this would be full of helpful pictures and detailed instructions, but no… I’m just me, so this is going to be the bare bones variety of blog post. And if anyone else were to try this, they would probably do it differently anyway!

So as I mentioned, we are expecting a baby in…. less than a month now! But what I don’t think you know is that we share a house with my sister and her husband and she is due in 6 days with her first little baby!! So in a couple of weeks we will be covered in newborns, and I thought I could look ahead and make life a little easier by making some freezer meals so dinners will be that much easier when babies are here. I had done this once before, but most of the meals I made that time were gifts for other preggo mamas with babies on the way, or families and friends who could benefit from some meals due to sickness or whatever happening in their life at the time.

Anyway, last Saturday evening I sat down and looked through some blogs and recipes I had bookmarked and found a number of recipes I wanted to try. I looked for one pot meal kind of things, with lots of veggies and healthy ingredients so I wouldn’t feel bad about not having time to make a salad to go along with each meal, but also kid and husband friendly meals that hopefully, will leave everyone happy.

Natalie at busybudgetingmama had some good ideas, some that I modified and some that I had used before (like the pulled pork… love it!) and I looked around and got some other recipes from other places and the lasagne is my husbands “recipe” although its never been written down anywhere I don’t think.

I ended up with a list of 9 meals, and then started working on the grocery list. It was at this point that I decided if I am going to do this, I would go out, and double or triple most of the recipes. (Having a almost empty deep freeze is essential at this point!)  A lot of the staple food I might have had around, but I made sure to check because last time I thought I had things but turned out I didn’t, or didn’t have enough, and it slowed down the process a lot.

Sunday morning we went to mass, and then headed straight to Costco. I wanted to get all the meat and things like potatoes, onions, carrots, frozen veggies etc. there since we were going to need LOTS of them. But for the things we just needed a smaller amount of we popped into a regular grocery store (also there are just some things that Costco doesn’t have, like lasagne noodles)

Then we came home and the chopping party began. My sister and my mom helped and within 4 hours we had it all done. Writing the instructions on the zip lock bags before starting to fill them was a big help, and now our freezers stocked for hopefully a long long time!

And I decided to put the list on the freezer so less digging is required to figure out what to make for supper!

Last night we caved and made the first one; Natalie’s chicken and dumplings… She was right, they were amazing! Definitely will be making that one again sometime soon!

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Money Savers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being Productive: How to Make 22 Freezer Meals in 1 Day

  1. Linda says:

    Love doing this! At the very least during month 9 of every pregnancy, this one thing will save you… daily… for weeks. Plus paper plates/bowls. :P. Good idea to just put the list in the freezer! I always put it in that safe spot, you know, um… somewhere LOL.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

