An avid blog-reader speaks out…

 

I am trying so hard to make blogging part of my “routine”. Which, I should mention, I have pretty much none of. I am not a “routine” person. So every day is different and that’s the way I like it, so far. (Having a baby that’s now on more of a schedule than me might be changing that a little!)

Anyway, I find blogging requires a lot of time to

a) read and be informed about what is going on in the world, (aka have something to talk about) and

b) writing, editing, photo-editing, etc. etc., to actually put posts together.

Either way, I am trying. Both with this blog and for my other blog, Following My Leader, which has existed for a lot longer but is also sadly lacking in my frequency of posting. Anyway, I posted last week, and have tried very hard to read other blogs and do what Hallie suggested, drowning out any negativity in the blog-world by leaving positive comments EVERYWHERE!!!!! Since she pointed out, receiving just one negative comment can really be a bummer, even when there were probably a much greater number of people who read the post in question happily but clicked on by without so much as a “like” or a comment. Not that there is anything wrong with that. Just, why not be friendly and encouraging when you have the chance? Maybe just my opinion.

Anyhow, wish me luck! and feel free to join the movement and leave a little love on blogs you enjoy. It doesn’t have to be just the readers who ABSOUTELY LUUUUVVVVV or are Completely Apalled and Offended!  who leave comments… when most likely, the majority of readers fall somewhere in the middle. Even just saying, “Hey that was nice!” is a big deal!

It does take a few extra seconds, especially for those blogs with capchas and “prove you’re not a robot” hoops to jump through…. but, still

Also, it made me pay more attention to what I was reading, since I wanted to have something to say about it. I guess it’t like applying “be a good listener” skills to my blog reading. I used to find myself mindlessly reading blog posts, retaining very little unless I was completely enamoured by the subject matter, (ie wooden saint dolls, too CUTE! am I crafty enough?!) but that doesn’t always happen, and reading a post with your brain partially asleep must certainly be a waste of time… so Anywhooo! I benefitted! Try it!

About Amy

Wife, mom, daughter, sister, aunt, Godmother, all those good things any many more. Crafter, extrovert, life-long-learner just for the fun of it, when my 4 little (and not so little) babies give me the chance for anything beyond keeping them fed and clean and our lives relatively calm and peaceful.
This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you!

